Skip Navigation
October 21, 2019 AHAC Nominations due Friday, November 15, 2019

FHLBank Topeka’s Affordable Housing Program sets aside funds each year for member institutions to use in financing affordable housing for low- and moderate-income households in their communities in partnership with public and private local housing development organizations. When the program began in 1989, an Affordable Housing Advisory Council (AHAC) was created to meet with representatives of FHLBank Topeka’s board of directors and advise FHLBank on very low-, low- and moderate-income housing needs and programs in FHLBank’s district (Colorado, Kansas, Nebraska and Oklahoma).

FHLBank Topeka’s AHAC is comprised of 12 individuals. AHAC members must reside in FHLBank Topeka’s district and must be from community (either for profit or nonprofit) organizations that are actively involved in providing or promoting low- and moderate-income housing or community lending in FHLBank Topeka’s district. Employees of FHLBank Topeka’s members are not eligible to serve on the AHAC. Consistent with the Federal Housing Finance Agency’s (FHFA) regulation on Minority and Women Inclusion, and FHLBank Topeka’s long-term strategic objective to advance diversity and inclusion in all business activities, FHLBank Topeka strongly encourages the consideration of diversity in nominating individuals for positions on its AHAC.

It is expected that three people from each state in the district will serve on FHLBank Topeka’s AHAC, generally for three-year terms. Members are appointed to terms on a staggered basis. Current members are eligible for reappointment but may not serve more than three consecutive three-year terms.

There are four open seats for which we are now accepting nominations, one each in Colorado, Kansas, Nebraska and Oklahoma. The individuals selected will serve a term beginning January 1, 2020 and ending December 31, 2022. The four AHAC members whose terms expire this year are:

  • Claudia Brierre | INCOG, Tulsa, Okla. 
     Eligible for reappointment
  • Lynn Fleming | Housing Authority of The City of Great Bend, Great Bend, Kan. 
    Eligible for reappointment
  • Lisa Bloomquist Palmer | HomesFund, Durango, Colo. 
    Eligible for reappointment
  • Michael Renken | NeighborWorks, Lincoln, Neb.
    Not eligible for reappointment

The other eight members of the AHAC are:

  • Matthew A. Brady | Housing Authority of the City of Dodge City, Kan.
  • Brent D. Williams | Excel Development Group, Lincoln, Neb.
  • Valerie Powell | Housing Authority of Choctaw Nation of Oklahoma, Hugo, Okla.
  • Nate Clyncke | Rocky Mountain Community Land Trust, Colorado Springs, Colo.
  • Jennifer Cloud | Colorado Coalition for the Homeless, Denver, Colo.
  • LaTasha St. Arnault | Inter-Faith Ministries, Wichita, Kan.
  • Paul Bartlett | Kearney Area Habitat for Humanity, Kearney, Neb.
  • Vicki Jordan | Tulsa Habitat for Humanity, Tulsa, Okla.

AHAC members receive a fee for each meeting attended and are reimbursed for all travel and associated expenses incurred. The fees are detailed in the chart below. Nominees must be willing to travel to any of the four states in FHLBank’s district at least twice annually to attend meetings. Currently two meetings are in-person and two are by video conference. Nominators should verify that nominees are willing and able to participate in these one-day meetings, generally held during the second or third week of March, June, September and December.


 Position  In-Person  Video Conference   Annual
Chair  $ 750  $  500  $  2,500
Vice-Chair  $  600           $  350  $  1,900
Member  $  500  $  250   $  1,500

Please complete the   nomination form  and submit it for individuals you believe meet the qualifications to represent your state on FHLBank Topeka’s AHAC. A copy of the individual’s resume must be attached to your submission. Please feel free to nominate more than one qualified individual.

Nominations must be returned to FHLBank Topeka via email to, fax 785.234.1765 or mail to Federal Home Loan Bank Topeka, 500 SW Wanamaker Rd, Topeka, KS 66606, Attn: Tom Thull by Friday, November 15, 2019. It is expected that FHLBank Topeka’s board of directors will consider these nominations at its December 2019 meeting.

Thank you for your assistance in nominating qualified individuals to FHLBank Topeka’s AHAC. Please contact   Tom Thull, director of Housing and Community Development, at 785.478.8056, if you have questions.

Back to Top