Skip Navigation


Watch the HSP+ video below to learn about uses and guidelines.

HSP Plus Video

Companion PDF

HSP+, formally the High-Cost Area HSP, provides additional funding to high-cost areas and non-metropolitan difficult development areas. First-time homebuyers purchasing homes in these areas within FHLBank Topeka's district are eligible to receive up to $25,000 per household to assist with downpayment, closing costs or eligible repairs. The funds will be available on a first-come, first-served basis of $175,000 in reservations per member, per month beginning March 4, 2024.

HSP+ cannot be combined or transferred between other TurnKey programs. All general and income eligibility guidelines and rules apply to both HSP and HSP+ products. To participate, a TurnKey Member Registration Agreement must be on file with FHLBank and members that originate home loans in high-cost and difficult to develop areas must email to request participation in HSP+.

HSP+ Details

  • High-Cost Area HSP round opens March 4, 2024
  • Funds available: $1.5 million
  • Maximum subsidy per household: $25,000
  • Minimum subsidy per household: $2,500
  • Property being purchased must be located in a high-cost area or non-metropolitan difficult to develp area. See qualifying counties >>>
  • Household must meet most general and income eligibility guidelines


Members of FHLBank Topeka are eligible to participate in the TurnKey programs. Members interview homebuyers, determine and certify household eligibility and submit grant reservations to FHLBank. To participate in any TurnKey programs, a TurnKey Member Registration Agreement (Registration Agreement) must be on file with FHLBank. Contact for registration information.

Message to Homebuyers
The TurnKey programs are offered in partnership with FHLBank members. FHLBank does not work directly with homebuyers and does not originate home loans. Contact an FHLBank member to apply.


Homebuyer Education

Homebuyer education is required for HSP and HSP+. FHLBank will accept certificates from providers approved by the organizations listed below. In general, if the homebuyer education provider is accepted by Fannie Mae or Freddie Mac, FHLBank will accept the course. This includes the online courses CreditSmart, Framework and Homeview.

General Homebuyer Education Requirements:

  • Homebuyer education must be completed within the current or previous calendar year of the purchase closing date. The date of course completion must be visible on the homebuyer education certificate.
  • Only one adult household member must complete the homebuyer education course and be named on the certificate.
  • The provider must sign the certificate if the course is taken in a classroom or face-to-face setting. If the course is taken online, the homebuyers signature is not required.
  • If Homebuyer Education is taken through an online platform, such as EHomeAmerica, ensure the provider meets FHLBank Requirements. EHomeAmerica is not the Homebuyer Education provider.


FHLBank recommends the required homebuyer education course be taken prior to the loan closing.

HSP Online



Difficult Development Areas - Non-metropolitan counties with high land, construction and utility costs relative to the area median income. Designations are validated using the HUD website.

First-time Homebuyer - All borrowers, co-borrowers, and co-owners of the transaction, who do not own and are not investors in another residence, and who wish to purchase a home that will be their primary residence.

In addition, the homebuyer(s) must meet any one of the following criteria:

  • Have had no ownership in a residence during the prior three-year period ending on the date of purchase of the property;
  • Have only owned a residence not permanently affixed to a permanent foundation in accordance with applicable Regulations;
  • Has only owned a property that was not in compliance with State, local or model building codes and which cannot be brought into compliance for less than the cost of constructing a permanent structure; or
  • Is a household displaced as a result of a Federally Declared Disaster (as designated by FEMA) within 24 months of the reservation date.

High-Cost Area - Counties in which 115% of the local median home value exceeds the baseline conforming loan limit as established annually by the Federal Housing and Finance Agency.

HSP+ Eligible Counties
  • Adams County, CO
  • Arapahoe County, CO
  • Archuleta County, CO
  • Boulder County, CO
  • Broomfield County, CO
  • Chaffee County, CO
  • Clear Creek County, CO
  • Crowley County, CO
  • Denver County, CO
  • Douglas County, CO
  • Eagle County, CO
  • Elbert County, CO
  • Garfield County, CO
  • Gilpin County, CO
  • Grand County, CO
  • Gunnison County, CO
  • Jefferson County, CO
  • La Plata County, CO
  • Mineral County, CO
  • Moffat County, CO
  • Montezuma County, CO
  • Morgan County, CO
  • Ouray County, CO
  • Park County, CO
  • Payne County, OK
  • Pitkin County, CO
  • Routt County, CO
  • San Juan County, CO
  • San Miguel County, CO
  • Summit County, CO
  • Yuma County, CO

Contact Us

To contact our Housing and Community Development department, please email or call 866.571.8155.

Back to Top